Connacht Hockey

Connacht Hockey U18 Team Announcement

29th August 2022

Connacht Hockey along with Head Coach Deirdre McDermott, Assistant Coach Catherine Moore and Goalkeeper Coach Martin White are delighted to announce the Connacht U18 Squad for the coming season’s Interprovincial series of matches.  This is the second year of the new competition format which sees matches played throughout the season, with the first interprovincial match on Sunday 4th September versus Leinster in Mullingar.  In line with Hockey Ireland strategy, an extended panel of 37 players has been selected which will aid with underage regional development.  A squad of 18 players will be selected for each interprovincial match.

Back row (L-R)
Lara Swann, Anna Meade, Elena McNichol, Siun McGovern, Georgia Costello, Emily Quinn, Siobhan
McManaman, Anna Harty, Aoife Summerville, Ellie Browne, Sally O’Hara, Ava McGauran, Zara Browne, Anna
Burns, Maeve Moran, Amy Dempsey, Meabh Gilmor

Front row (L-R)
Leana NicDhonncha, Grace Walsh (VC), Zoe Rodgers, Sarah Connolly, Laoise Medley, Lauren O’Donnell (Capt),
Rosie Doorly, Meabh McLoughlin, Isabelle Howard, Sophie Swann, Kate Bredin, Ailbhe Tarpey, Rachel Kelly

Head Coach Deirdre McDermott would like to congratulate the players selected and looks forward to the interprovincial matches ahead.  She says “this Interprovincial format is proving to be of huge benefit to the development of underage hockey in Connacht and throughout Ireland.  It gives the management team and the players time to analyse each match and work on areas which need to improve ahead of the next interprovincial match.  The extended squads lead to increased competitiveness within the squad and also gives the opportunity to develop players for the following season.”

Player School Club
Anna Browne Yeats College Greenfields
Kate Bredin Salerno Greenfields
Anna Burns Coláiste na Coirbe Galway
Amy Dempsey        Jes Galway
Anna Harty Salerno Greenfields
Anna Meade          Ursuline Yeats
Ava McGauran Salerno Greenfields
Aoibhe Monaghan Yeats College Greenfields
Aoife Nash  Jes Greenfields
Aoife Summerville Salerno   Galway
Ailbhe Tarpey         Jes Galway
Ellie Browne Salerno Greenfields
Elena McNichol     Salerno Greenfields
Emily Quinn             Jes Galway
Georgia Costello    Jes Greenfields
Grace Walsh Salerno Galway
Isabelle Howard   Salerno Greenfields
Laura Gately           Seamount College Kinvara
Laoise Medley       Salerno Galway
Léana NicDhonncha Jes Greenfields
Lauren O’Donnell Taylors Hill              Greenfields
Lara Swann Grammar Yeats
Meabh Gillmor      Grammar Yeats
Meabh McLoughlin Grammar Pembroke
Maeve Moran Salerno Galway
Riona Cunningham Bower Athlone
Rachel Kelly Jes Galway
Rosie Doorly  Jes Galway
Roisin Heaney Salerno Galway
Sarah Connolly The King's Hospital -
Siún McGovern Jes Galway
Saoirse Lawley Grammar Yeats
Siobhan McManaman Jes Greenfields
Sally O’Hara Bower Athlone
Sophie Swann Grammar Yeats
Zara  Browne Salerno Greenfields
Zoe Rodgers Seamount College Kinvara


Never miss an update

Follow the site to get the latest news and results straight to your email

Follow us